Medieval Pottery Research Group

Ceramic Reference Collection Lists (from MPRG Standards)

  1. Home
  2. News
  3. Current Newsletter (PDF)
  4. Publications
  5. Conferences
  6. Regional Groups
  7. UK Reference Collections
  8. Archive
  9. How to Join
  10. Travel Fund
  11. Contacts
  12. Links
  13. Copyright statement
  14. Site Map
  15. MPRG Bibliography
    - (external site)
  16. Research Framework
    - (external site)
 
Site search powered by FreeFind

To search this page, please use your browser's 'find' function (usually Ctrl+F).

Key to codes:

CTS type: 1 - fabric; 2 - form.

Period: 1 - Prehistoric; 2 - Roman; 3 - Anglo-Saxon; 4 - Medieval; 5 - Post-Medieval.

Please note some of the names and contact details on this list are now out of date, MPRG is currently working to update the list and apologises for any inconvenience this may cause.

National Ceramic Reference Collections

AreaContact nameAddressTelephoneEmailCTS typePeriod
National Reference Collection of Medieval PotteryBeverley Nenk Dept of Prehistory and Europe, British Museum, Great Russell St, LONDON WC1B 3DG020 7323 8286 or 8629 bnenk@britishmuseum.org12345
National Reference Collection of Post-Medieval PotteryDavid Barker Archaeology Section, The Potteries Museum and Art Gallery, Bethesda St, Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 3DE 01782 232 519 david.barker@stoke.gov.uk 15
ScotlandDavid Caldwell,
Jackie Moran
Department of Scotland and Europe, National Museums of Scotland, Chambers St, EDINBURGH, EH1 1JF 0131 247 4068 or 4079 d.caldwell@nms.ac.uk
j.moran@nms.ac.uk
145
WalesMark Redknap,
Medievalist
Department of Archaeology and Numismatics, National Museum of Wales, Cathays Park, CARDIFF CF1 3NP 029 2057 3223via website 4

Regional Ceramic Type Series in Great Britain and Ireland

AreaContact nameAddressTelephoneEmailCTS typePeriodComments
Beds and N Bucks, inc Milton KeynesAlbion Archaeology St Mary's Church Archaeology Centre, St Mary's Street, BEDFORD MK42 OAS 0300 300 6877info@albion-arch.com 1212345Cross-refer with Northants
Berks, Wilts, Dorset, some surrounding countiesLorraine Mepham Wessex Archaeology, Portway House, Old Sarum Park, SALISBURY SP4 6EB 01722 326867l.mepham@wessexarch.co.uk 112345
Bristol and Greater Bristol areaKate Iles Bristol City Museum, Queens Road, BRISTOL BS8 1RL 0117 9223459kate.iles@bristol.gov.uk 1345Relevant to parts of pre-1974 S Glos and N Somerset
CambsPaul Spoerry,
Carole Fletcher
Oxford Archaeology East, 15 Trafalgar Way, Bar Hill, CAMBRIDGE, CB23 8SQ 01223 850550paul.spoerry@thehumanjourney.net,
carole.fletcher@thehumanjourney.net
134
Carlisle, N CumbriaTim Padley Keeper of Archaeology, Tullie House Museum and Art Gallery, Castle Street, CARLISLE, CA3 8TP 01228 618768timp@carlisle.gov.uk 145
Chester, NW regionJulie Edwards,
Gill Dunn and
Alison Heke
Historic Environment Team,
Cheshire West & Chester Council,
27 Grosvenor St, CHESTER, CH1 2DD
01244 402027julie.edwards@cheshirewestandchester.gov.uk,
gill.dunn@cheshirewestandchester.gov.uk,
alison.heke@cheshirewestandchester.gov.uk
12345Romano-British covers NW Britain
ClevelandRobin Daniels Tees Archaeology, Sir Wm Gray House, Clarence Road, Hartlepool, TS24 8BT 01492 523455Robin.Daniels@hartlepool.gov.uk 114
EssexHelen Walker Essex County Council Archaeology Field Unit, Fairfield Court, Fairfield Rd, Braintree, Essex CM7 3YQ 01376 331431helen.walker@essexcc.gov.uk 12345Cunningham 1985;
Drury 1993
GuernseyPhillip de Jersey Guernsey Museum and Art Gallery,
Candie Gardens, St Peter Port, GUERNSEY, GY1 1UG
01481 700477Phillip.DeJersey@cultureleisure.gov.gg 1145
Hampshire
(Test Valley)
Dave Allen Hampshire County Museum Service, Chilcomb House, Chilcomb Lane, WINCHESTER SO23 8RD 01962 826738 12345
HerefordKath Crooks Archaeological Investigations Ltd, Unit 1, Premier Business Park, Faraday Road, Hereford, HR4 9NZ 01432 364905kathc@aihereford.com 145Vince 1985; now part of Headland Archaeology
HerefordJudy Stevenson Herefordshire Heritage Services, Museum Resource and Learning Centre, 58 Friar St, Hereford HR4 0AS 01432 383593jstevenson@herefordshire.gov.uk 112345
Herts (St Albans and greyware kilns)Simon West and Alison Turner-Rugg Museum of St Albans, Unit 7, Sandridge Gate Business Centre, Ronson's Way, St Albans AL4 9XR 01727 819338
01727 751819
S.West@stalbans.gov.uk
A.Turner-Rugg@stalbans.gov.uk
14
Islamic worldVenetia Porter Department of the Middle East, British Museum, Great Russell St, LONDON WC1B 3DG 020 73238843vporter@thebritishmuseum.ac.uk 1
Isle of WightRuth Waller and Rebecca Loader County Archaeology Service, Archaeological Centre, 61 Clatterford Road, Carisbrooke, Newport, Isle of Wight PO30 1NZ 01983 823 810Ruth.Waller@iow.gov.uk
Rebecca.Loader@iow.gov.uk
LeicestershireDebbie Sawday University of Leicester Archaeological Services, School of Archaeology and Ancient History, University Road, Leicester LE1 7RH 0116 2522848dmas1@le.ac.uk 145
Nick Coopernjc9@le.ac.uk123
Greater London and sources of supplyJacqui Pearce MOL Archaeology, 46 Eagle Wharf Road, LONDON N1 7ED 020 7566 9325jpearce@museumoflondon.org.uk 12345
Nonsuch Palace
(Surrey, London area, Essex, Hants/Surrey border)
Hazel Forsyth Museum of London, 150 London Wall, LONDON EC2Y 5HN 020 76003699hforsyth@museumoflondon.org.uk 124Not a type series in the usual sense, but can be used as such with Biddle forthcoming
NorthamptonshireIain Soden Northamptonshire County Council Archaeology, 2 Bolton House, Wootton Hall Park, Mereway, Northampton NN4 8BE 01604 700 493/4isoden@northamptonshire.gov.uk 1345
Northern IrelandCraig McHuickenHarbour Museum, Harbour Square, Derry BT48 6AF 028 71377331 125Holds Derry. Mostly 17th Century.
OxfordshireLeigh Allen Oxford Archaeological Unit, Janus House, Osney Mead, OXFORD OX2 0ES 01865 263800leigh.allen@oxfordarch.co.uk 13
Oxford regionSusan Walker Dept of Antiquities,Ashmolean Museum, Beaumont St, OXFORD OX1 2PH Use emailsusan.walker@ashmus.ox.ac.uk 1345
IrelandClare McCutcheonOld Chapel, Bandon, Co. Cork, Republic of Ireland Use emailmccutcc@gofree.indigo.ie 14
ShropshireCameron Moffett Shrewsbury Museum and Art Gallery, Rowley's House, Barker St, Shrewsbury, Shropshire SY1 IQH 01743 281205shrewsburymuseums@shropshire.gov.uk 1212345Shrewsbury Abbey material currently held by Victoria Bryant until summer 2001 (see Hereford and Worcs). Wroxeter Romano-British collection 1920.
SouthamptonGill Woolrich Arts and Heritage, Southampton City Council, Civic Centre, Southampton SO14 7LP 023 80635904gill.woolrich@southampton.gov.uk 12345
SuffolkRichenda Goffin Suffolk County Council Archaeological Service, Shire Hall, Bury St Edmunds IP33 2AR 01284 352446/7 richenda.goffin@et.suffolkcc.gov.uk 1345
Cathy Testercathy.tester@suffolk.gov.uk2
Sussex (E/W) and Romney Marsh (W Kent)Luke Barber Barbican House, 169 High Street, Lewes, East Sussex BN7 1YE 01273 405733research@sussexpast.co.uk 1345
SW England (Avon and Somerset, Cornwall, Devon, Dorset)Thomas Cadbury Royal Albert Memorial Museum, Queen Street, EXETER EX4 3RX 01392 665356thomas.cadbury@exeter.gov.uk 12
YorkAilsa Mainman and Anne Jenner York Archaeological Trust, 47 Aldwark, YORK YO1 7BX 01904 663030 or 023 amainman@yorkat.co.uk
ajenner@yorkat.co.uk
(123)45
S Yorks and N DerbysChris Cumberpatch 22 Tennyson Road Lower Walkley, SHEFFIELD S6 2WE 0114 2310051cgc@ccumberpatch.freeserve.co.uk 1245
Warwickshire and West MidlandsCatherine Coutts Archaeology Warwickshire,
Unit 9,
Montague Road,
Warwick,
CV34 5LW
01926 412278 cathycoutts@warwickshire.gov.uk 145
Wharram Percy and regionPeter Didsbury c/o Humber Field Archaeology,
The Old School,
Northumberland Avenue,
HULL HU2 0LN
01482 310600hfa@hullcc.gov.uk 112345To be accessioned to Hull Museum on completion of project
WinchesterHelen Rees (post-1972 material) Winchester City Council, Unit F2, Bar End Industrial Estate, WINCHESTER SO23 9NP. 01962 848338hrees@winchester.gov.uk 15
Geoff Denford (pre-1971 material)gdenford@winchester.gov.uk12345
WorcesterDerek Hurst and Laura Griffin Worcestershire Historic Environment and Archaeology Service, Woodbury Hall, University of Worcester, Henwick Grove, WORCESTER WR2 6AJ 01905 855495 dhurst@worcestershire.gov.uk 112345Worcestershire online ceramic database:
www.worcestershireceramics.org